Malta Football Association
Jun 24, 2014
Posted in:

Four Maltese teams are due to start their participation in the two Euro Clubs Competitions for season 2014-2015 early in July after the draws were made in Nyon on Monday 23 June. Birkirkara, Hibernians and Sliema Wanderers. participating in the Europa League, were paired with Diosgyori VTK of Hungary, Spartak Trnava (Slovakia) and Ferencvarosi TC (Hungary) respectively in the First Qualifying round of the competition. The Slovaks will be meeting Hibernians for the second time while Ferencvarosi are more familiar with Malta, having visited the island twice before.


The Yellow Reds will be playing the first leg away on 3 July, while the Paolites and the Blues will host their opponents in the first leg on the same day. The return legs are scheduled for 10 July.


Meanwhile, champions Valletta were drawn to meet Qarabag FK of Azerbaijan at home on 15/16 July and on 22/23 July in Azerbaijan.    


While the Lilywhites will hope to repeat their performances when they overcame their first hurdles against Barry Town of Wales in 1999, and later against Keyflavik (Iceland), Tre Fiori San Marino and Lusitano (Andorra), they will try to emulate these feats also this season and perhaps go one better when making progress to the third qualification round of the Champions League


As for the other Maltese teams, their target is also further progress as they try to qualify for the second qualification round of the Europa League.


The supporters of all the four particpating teams and local followers of the game will keep their fingers crossed, hoping for a positive outcome 


The local Clubs' home fixtures will be as follows;


Tue - 1st July 2014  -  Sliema W.F.C. vs Ferencvaros TC (HUN)   -  Nat. Stadium @ 17.45hrs

Thu - 3rd July 2014  -  Hibernians F.C. vs Spartak Trnava (SVK)   -   Nat. Stadium @ 20,00hrs

Thu - 10th July 2014  -  Birkirkara F.C. vs Diosgyori VTK (HUN)  -  Nat. Stadium @ 19,30hrs

Tue - 15th July 2014  -  Valletta F.C. vs Qarabag FK (AZE)   -   NAt. Stadium @ 18,30hrs

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners