Malta Football Association
Mar 23, 2015
Posted in:
photo (c) Paul Zammit Cutajar
photo (c) Paul Zammit Cutajar


On Saturday 28 March Malta will have the first competitive outing of the year when the team travels to Azerbaijan to play their fifth qualifying match in Group H of the Euro 2016 edition of the continental championship. That clash will be followed by another five over the next seven months, against Bulgaria, Italy, again Azerbaijan, Norway and at home to Croatia on 13 October.


With Pietro Ghedin’s team having broken their duck in terms of points after their notable 1-1 away draw against Bulgaria late last year, the expectations of our team gaining further momentum to eventually avoid bottom place by maintaining their present position in front of our hosts, could be fulfilled if the team plays as a unit and functions well as they did particularly against the Bulgarians, Italy and up to a certain extent against Croatia.


Ghedin has chosen a wide group of players which will be trimmed down after he makes the necessary assessment and decides on functional and flexible teamwork. With this in mind, on Wednesday 25 March he will put his lads to a test away from home against Georgia. He will then have a better idea of the team to pick against Azerbaijan and the game-plan to deploy.


Caution, especially when we play in unfamiliar conditions and against a team that still has to pick its first spoils, will be uppermost in our coach’s mind. Nevertheless, Ghedin will not forego the team’s offensive possibilities. Concentration is paramount and if our units can produce some of the form shown against Bulgaria, they can well obtain a positive result.        


The FInal squad called up by Ghedin is as follows:




Justin Haber  09/06/1981 Birkirkara  Malta
Henry Bonello 13/10/1988 Hibernians  Malta
Andrew Hogg  02/03/1985 AEL Kalloni Greece
Andrei Agius  12/08/1986 Hibernians Malta
Steve Bezzina  05/01/1987 Balzan Malta
Steve Borg 15/05/1988 Valletta  Malta
Jonathan Caruana 24/07/1986 Valletta  Malta
Ryan Camenzuli 08/09/1994 Birkirkara Malta
Ryan Camilleri  22/05/1988 Valletta Malta
Zach Muscat 22/08/1993               Birkirkara Malta
Jurgen Pisani 03/19/1992 Pieta' H. Malta
Conor Borg  13/05/1997 Floriana Malta
Roderick Briffa  24/08/1981 Valletta  Malta
Paul Fenech  20/12/1986 Birkirkara  Malta
Ryan Fenech  20/04/1986 Valletta  Malta
Bjorn Kristensen 05/04/1993 Hibernians  Malta
Rowen Muscat  05/06/1991 Birkirkara  Malta
Steve Pisani 07/08/1992 Floriana  Malta
Mark Scerri  16/01/1990 Sliema  Malta



Andrew Cohen  13/05/1981 Hibernians Malta
Alfred Effiong 29/11/1984 Qormi  Malta
Jean Paul Farrugia  21/03/1992 Hibernians  Malta
Andre' Schembri 27/05/1986 Omonia Nicosia Cyprus
Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners