Malta Football Association
Mar 24, 2015
Posted in:

The XXXIX Ordinary UEFA Congress is being held at the Reed Exhibition Messe in Vienna, Austria, on the 24th March. Apart from the annual reports of the UEFA President and that of the Executive Committee, the agenda includes reports of the activities of the various Uefa committees, the financial report for 2013/2014 and the budget for 2015.


The other items concerning the several elections will draw great interest.


In accordance with the UEFA Statute (Article 19) the UEFA President and seven members of the Executive Committee are elected during the year preceding the final round of the UEFA Euro Football Championship. Eight members of the Executive Committee will then be elected during the calendar year following the final round of the Euro Football Championship. The forthcoming finals will take place in France next year.


The term of UEFA President and members of the Executive Committee is four years. President Michel Platini is uncontested. He will also be an ex-officio FIFA vice-President.


Twelve candidates have applied for seven available seats, with four standing for re-election after the expiry of their term of office. These are Angel Maria Villar Llona (Spain), Grigory Surkis, Peter Gillieron (Switzerland) and Boris Mihaylov (Bulgaria).


The other eight are Sandor Csanyi (Hungary), Fernando Gomez (Portugal), Yngve Hallen (Norway), Trefor Lloyd Hughes (Wales), Campbell Ogilvie (Scotland), Davor Suker (Croatia), Geir Thorsteinsson (Iceland) and Servet Yardimci (Turkey). There will also be a candidate for a member on the FIFA Executive Committee. He will be Angel Maria Villar Llona (Spain).


Candidates to be  elected on the FIFA Executive Committee reserved for the four British Associations are David Gill (England) and Trefor Lloyd Hughes, while the candidate for FIFA Executive Committee is Wolfgang Niersbach (Germany).


MFA President, Norman Darmanin Demajo, General Secretary, Bjorn Vassallo, and vice-President, Chris Bonett, will be Malta’s represenattives at the Vienna Congress.

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners