Malta Football Association
Kristensen wins MFA Footballer of the Year award
May 14, 2017
Posted in:
BOV Premier League
BOV Challenge League
BOV Amateur League A
BOV Amateur League B
BOV Women's 1st Div
BOV Women's 2nd Div
Photo: Paul Zammit Cutajar/MFA
Photo: Paul Zammit Cutajar/MFA

  • Photo: Paul Zammit Cutajar/MFA

A memorable season ended on a great note for Bjorn Kristensen as the Hibernians midfielder was named MFA Footballer of the Year on Sunday night. Kristensen’s contribution to Hibernians’ BOV Premier League title triumph was recognised by the voting panel, made up of journalists, the coaches and captains of the BOV Premier League clubs, and coaches from the Malta FA Technical Centre.

The announcement of the winner of the MFA Footballer of the Year, the most prestigious individual honour in Maltese football, was the culmination of a pleasant 2017 MFA Awards at the Mediterranean Conference Centre.


The 24-year-old Kristensen fended off the challenge of fellow Hibernians team-mate Andrei Agius, Birkirkara duo Gareth Sciberras and Joseph Zerafa, and Balzan midfielder Paul Fenech to land the coveted trophy which he received from Malta FA President Norman Darmanin Demajo and Chris Agius, the Parliamentary Secretary for Youth, Sport, Research and Innovation.


This is the first time Kristensen, who has 19 caps for Malta, has won the MFA Footballer of the Year award, succeeding Valletta midfielder Roderick Briffa.


Hibernians were the big winners at the MFA Awards as Mark Miller was named coach of the year after leading the Paolites to the league crown while striker Jurgen Degabriele claimed the Best young player award.


A key player for the Malta Under-21 side, Degabriele, 20, was second best scorer in the BOV Premier League with 16 goals.


Bojan Kaljevic, the Balzan FC striker who topped the BOV Premier League scoring charts with 23 goals, won the best foreign player award while Brazilian Juninho Conceicao Cabral, who helped Senglea Athletic secure promotion to the BOV Premier League, was voted best player in Division One.


Two Maltese players claimed the awards for the best Second Division and Third Division players.


Qrendi FC striker Giovanni Galea topped the bill in the Second Division vote while Ryan Sell, who was instrumental in Kalkara’s title-winning campaign was named best player in the Third Division.


Birkirkara FC captain Stephania Farrugia scooped the best women’s league player prize while Jan Busuttil, the Pietà Hotspurs starlet and Xewkija Tigers goalkeeper Steve Sultana clinched the Best Youth League Player and GFA Best Player awards.


Valletta FC player Jovica Milijic was voted Best Futsal Player while Swieqi United topped the Fair Play chart.


The President’s Award, given by MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo for outstanding contribution to Maltese football, went to Louis Agius, the founder of the South End Core group.


Video features marking 60 years of international football and a tribute to the South End Core on their 10th anniversary were also shown during the 2017 MFA Awards.


Former referee Esther Azzopardi received the achievement award from Kevin Azzopardi, the MFA Director of Referees.


Sixty years of international football was the principal theme of this year’s MFA Awards.




MFA FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR:Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians)

COACH OF THE YEAR:Mark Miller (Hibernians)

YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR:Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians)

FOREIGN PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Bojan Kaljevic (Balzan FC)

BOV FIRST DIVISION BEST PLAYER:Juninho Conceicao Cabral (Senglea Athletic)



BOV WOMEN’S LEAGUE BEST PLAYER:Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara FC)

BEST YOUTH LEAGUE PLAYER: Jan Busuttil (Pietà Hotspurs)

GFA PLAYER OF THE YEAR:Steve Sultana (Xewkija Tigers)

FUTSAL PLAYER OF THE YEAR:Jovic Milijic (Valletta FC).

PRESIDENT’S AWARD:Louis Agius (South End Core).

2016/17 BEST GOAL AWARD:Ryan Scicluna (Birkirkara vs Gżira United)

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners