Malta Football Association
Stefan Sultana still holds Premier League goals record
Jun 22, 2017
Posted in:
BOV Premier League
Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA

  • Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
  • Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA

Former Ħamrun Spartans stalwart Stefan Sultana still tops the all-time scorers’ chart for the Premier League.

Sultana, who turns 49 on July 18, enjoyed a successful playing career between 1985 and 2010, including a three-year spell with Hibernians. He also played 33 times for Malta, scoring four goals.


The lanky striker amassed a remarkable total of 197 goals in 424 Premier League matches to shoot to the summit of the scorers’ list, 14 goals ahead of former Valletta FC captain Gilbert Agius. 


“It feels good to occupy top spot in the all-time Premier League scorers’ classification,” Sultana told


“But records are there to be broken, so one day it will happen.


“However, having held top spot for such a long time is already an honour for me.


"Nowadays, players are playing more games in a season than we did, so there is always the chance that this record will be bettered in the future.”


The next active player in the all-time scorers classification is Andrew Cohen, of Gżira United, on 132 goals, followed by Balzan’s Alfred Effiong on 130, Valletta’s Michael Mifsud (128) and Jean Pierre Mifsud-Triganza, who spent the second half of last season with Mosta FC, on 125 goals.


Positions two to six are occupied by former stalwarts who have ended their playing careers, namely Gilbert Agius, Michael Galea, Ivan Woods, Danilo Doncic and Joe Zarb.


With 151 goals in just 196 Premier League matches, Danilo Doncic, who coached St Andrews last season, has the highest goal ratio (0.77 goal per match).


While most of the other players on the chart needed at least 12 seasons to score 100 goals or more, the Serbian did it in just eight seasons, 1994-97 with Valletta FC, and 2001-2006 with Sliema Wanderers.



(comprises players who scored 75 goals or more, including deciders/play-offs)


197 goals Stefan Sultana (Ħamrun Spartans; Hibernians)
183 Gilbert Agius (Valletta)
180 Michael Galea (Birkirkara)
171 Ivan Woods (Valletta; Pietà Hotspurs; Sliema Wanderers; Floriana)

151 Danilo Doncic (Valletta; Sliema Wanderers)

134 Joseph Zarb (Ħamrun Spartans; Valletta; Gozo)
132 Andrew Cohen (Hibernians; Gżira United)
131 Terrence Scerri (Hibernians/Valletta/Hamrun S/Naxxar Lions)
130 Alfred Effiong (St George’s; Ħamrun Spartans; Qormi; Marsaxlokk; Valletta; Balzan)
130 Adrian Mifsud (Rabat Ajax; Hibernians; Sliema Wanderers; Floriana)
128 Michael Mifsud (Sliema Wanderers; Qormi; Valletta)
125 Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza (Floriana; Birkirkara; Sliema Wanderers; Valletta; Balzan; Ħamrun S; Mosta)

108 Joseph Brincat (Ħamrun Spartans; Floriana; Birkirkara; Sliema Wanderers)
106 Malcolm Licari (Pietà Hotspurs; Marsaxlokk; Floriana; Balzan; Rabat Ajax)

99 Hubert Suda (Sliema Wanderers; Valletta; Birkirkara)

93 Carmel Busuttil (Rabat Ajax; Sliema Wanderers)
87 Daniel Bogdanovic (Sliema Wanderers; Naxxar Lions; Valletta; Marsaxlokk; Mosta; Floriana)
85 Massimo Grima (Pietà Hotspurs; Sliema Wanderers; Valletta; Mosta; Qormi; Ħamrun Spartans)
84 Orosco Anonam (Naxxar Lions; Sliema Wanderers; Floriana; Tarxien Rainbows; Pietà Hotspurs)
83 Edison Luis Dos Santos ‘Tarabai’ (Vittoriosa Stars; Hibernians)

82 Daniel Nwoke (Naxxar Lions; Msida St Joseph; Floriana; Qormi)
82 Clayton Failla (St Patrick; Hibernians; Sliema Wanderers; Floriana)
82 Denni Rocha Dos Santos (Tarxien Rainbows; Valletta; Hibernians; Sliema Wanderers). 


(information correct as on 19.06.2017; Statistics compiled by Lennard Kelder)

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners