Malta Football Association
Valletta crowned champions for 24th time in their history
Apr 21, 2018
Posted in:
BOV Premier League

Valletta have won the BOV Premier League title for the 24th time in their history.

On a nailbiting afternoon, the Citizens beat Gżira United 2-1 in their final match to capture the championship in the most dramatic manner after Balzan, their title rivals, went down 1-0 to Hibernians.


Valletta’s win coupled with Balzan’s defeat meant that the Citizens sealed top spot and the crown as they finished three points ahead of their main championship rivals.


At the National Stadium, Matteo Piciollo gave Valletta a seventh-minute lead and Raed Ibrahim Saleh doubled their advantage 20 minutes into the second half.


Andrew Cohen reduced the deficit from the penalty spot to set up a tense finale but Valletta kept their composure to protect their one-goal lead with the final whistle sparking boisterous celebrations from the City fans.


Norman Darmanin Demajo, the Malta FA President, and Deo Scerri, the CEO of Bank Of Valletta, presented the new BOV Premier League trophy to Valletta captain Ryan Camilleri.


At the Hibernians Stadium, Clayton Failla’s 56th minute goal put paid to Balzan’s title hopes as Hibs won 1-0.


Victory was not enough for Hibs to secure fourth place as Birkirkara came from two goals down to beat Ħamrun Spartans 4-2 at the Centenary Stadium.


Goals from Alex Nilsson and Marco Criaco put the Spartans 2-0 up at half-time but Birkirkara showed great resilience in the second half to overturn the deficit.


A three-goal spurt in 10 second-half minutes, with strikes from Nikola Vukanac, Edward Herrera and Ognjen Orlovic put Birkirkara 3-2 up. Orlovic scored again five minutes from the end to seal Birkirkara’s win and fourth place.


At the Tedesco Stadium, Floriana ended their commitments with a 6-2 victory over Lija Athletic.


Two goals by Juninho Cabral, the first from a penalty, Sebastian Nayar, Emerson Marcelina and Mario Fontanella propelled Floriana five goals up before Erjon Beu narrowed the deficit for Lija with a quick brace.


Fontanella was on target again on the stroke of time to give Floriana a 6-2 win.

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners