Malta Football Association
Qormi wrap up title-winning campaign on top note
Apr 23, 2018
Posted in:
BOV Premier League
BOV Challenge League
BOV Amateur League A

Qormi were crowned BOV First Division champions on Sunday.

Having wrapped up the title with a match to spare, Qormi celebrated their success with a 2-1 win over San Ġwann at the Centenary Stadium.

Tensior Gusman opened the scoring for Qormi on 18 minutes but Godwin Henshaw equalised for the Saints two minutes later.

With 19 minutes left, Iven Zammit scored the winner for Qormi, triggering great celebrations among their numerous supporters.


Malta FA Vice-President Ludovico Micallef presented the new BV First Division winners’ trophy to the Qormi players.


Qormi finished top of the first division standings on 59 points, Pietà Hotspurs second on 55 and Żejtun Corinthians third on 47.


Pietà Hotspurs also celebrated their promotion to the BOV Premier League with a 4-2 win over Żejtun Corinthians at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Sunday.


Juan Manuel Artiago Roa, Nicholas Pisani and Jan Busuttil gave Pietà a 3-0 lead by the 70th minute.


Żejtun got back into contention with goals from Adrian Carabott in the 74th minute and Omar El Hussieny two minutes later but Lawrence Chiedozie secured Pietà’s win in stoppage time.


Żejtun will met Tarxien Rainbows in the relegation/promotion play-off this Friday at the Hibernians Stadium.


Qrendi retained their BOV First Division status after hammering Vittoriosa Stars 5-0 at the Centenary Stadium.


Aaron Agius scored a hat-trick for Qrendi with the other goals coming from Shunsuke Nakamura and Julio Cesar Souza Martins.


Żabbar St Patrick will be contesting the First Division relegation/promotion play-off against Second Division side Swieqi United after going down 1-3 to Żebbuġ Rangers in their last match.


Aud-Gustine James Obaje and Larson Mallia gave Żebbuġ a 2-0 advantage.


Żabbar reduced the arrears through Aidan Agius Gilford but Mallia ended the Saints' comeback hopes it 3-1 10 minutes from time.



Gudja United won the BOV Second Division title after beating Sta Lucia 3-1 in an exciting decider at the Luxol Stadium.


Ronnie Celesta fired Gudja ahead after 21 minutes but Keith Vella levelled for the Saints.


Gudja were the better team as they nosed ahead with a goal from Anthony Ewurum on 37 minutes and Celeste sealed their win nine minutes from the end.


Alex Manfrẻ, the Malta FA vice-president, presented the BOV Second Division Championship trophy to Celeste, the Gudja captain.



St George’s kept their Second Division status after overcoming Xgħajra Tornadoes in a play-off at the Luxol Stadium.


Bobby Ray Vaughan scored St George’s winner with 21 minutes left after Daniel Zammit had cancelled out Royter Degiorgio’s opener for Xgħajra.

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners