Malta Football Association
Twenty teams through to U*BET FA Trophy third round
Oct 22, 2012
Posted in:
Cups & Competitions

Eight teams from the First Division, seven from the Second Division, two from the Third Division and three Gozitan teams reached the U*BET FA Trophy third round as the twenty matches from the second round were played over the weekend.


Naxxar Lions and St. Andrews defeated fellow teams from Division 1, beating Dingli Swallows 4-1 and Birzebbuga St. Peter's 2-0 respectively. Lija Athletic, Pieta Hotspurs, Mqabba and Zejtun Corinthians, on the other hand, defeated teams from Division 2, namely Siggiewi 3-1, St. George's 1-0, Kirkop United 3-0 and San Gwann 3-1 respectively.
Gudja United registered a comfortable 6-0 win over Ta' Xbiex while Gzira United beat Sirens 1-0.
The other two First Division teams, Vittoriosa Stars and Marsaxlokk were eliminated by Msida St. Joseph (1-2 aet) from Division 2 and Nadur Youngsters (0-1) from Gozo respectively
In clashes between Second Division sides, Zebbug Rangers beat Mellieha 3-0 and Zurrieq defeated Fgura United 4-0. 
St. Patrick beat Third Division side Marsa on penalties, Gharghur defeated Mtarfa 4-1 while Pembroke Athleta and St. venera Lightings registered identical 3-2 wins over two Gozitan teams, Xewkija Tigers and Xaghra United.
The only two teams from Division 3 to reach the next round are Senglea Athletic who defeated Kercem Ajax on penalties and Marsaskala who beat Luqa St. Andrew's 3-1  
Apart from Nadur Youngsters, another two Gozitan sides reached the next stage as Sannat Lions and SK Victoria Wanderers defeated Third Division sides Swieqi United 6-1 and Mgarr United 2-1 respectively.
Mqabba, Naxxar Lions, Gudja United, Lija Athletic, Gzira United, St. Andrews, Pietà Hotspurs and Zejtun Corinthians; Zebbug Rangers, Msida St. Joseph, Gharghur, Zurrieq, Pembroke Athleta, St. Patrick and St. Venera Lightnings; Marsaskala and Senglea Athletic; Sannat Lions, SK Victoria Wanderers and Nadur Youngsters therefore join the twelve Premier League clubs in the draw.
Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners