Malta Football Association
Cohen captures top award a record fourth time
May 11, 2018
Posted in:
BOV Premier League
BOV Challenge League
BOV Amateur League A
BOV Amateur League B
BOV Women's League
Andrew Cohen – best player. Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
Andrew Cohen – best player. Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA

  • Andrew Cohen – best player. Photos: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
  • Darren Abdilla – best coach.

Andrew Cohen has further enhanced his status as one of the best Maltese players of the last two decades after winning the MFA Footballer of the Year Award for a record fourth time.

Cohen, who turns 37 on Sunday, showed that class is ageless as he claimed the most coveted individual prize at the 2018 MFA Awards, held on Friday evening at the Mediterranean Conference Centre.


The Gżira United captain just pipped fellow Malta international and Balzan midfielder Paul Fenech to the honour with Birkirkara’s Jake Grech third.


Cohen, an inspirational figure in Gżira United’s march to third place in the 2017/18 BOV Premier League and qualification to the Europa League, was presented with the MFA Footballer of the Year trophy by Norman Darmanin Demajo, the Malta FA president, and Dr Clifton Grima, Parliamentary Secretary for Youth, Sport and Voluntary Organisations.


Grech ended his first season as a Birkirkara player by capturing the Best Young Player Award. Valletta striker Kyrian Nwoko was second and Hibernians striker Jurgen Degabriele third.


Gżira United were the biggest winners on Friday as coach Darren Abdilla was named coach of the year and Senegalese striker Amadou Samb, the BOV Premier League’s top scorer, claimed the Best Foreign Player Award.


Experienced Hibs midfielder Dorianne Theuma was voted Best Women’s League player.


Louis Micallef, the long-serving Malta FA Deputy General Secretary, and Gozitan footballer Brian Meilak were presented with the President’s Award by MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo in recognition of their contribution to football.


Matteo Piciollo’s goal in Valletta’s 2-1 FA Trophy semi-final win over Balzan was voted as the best goal for season 2017-18.


Football For Life was the theme of this year’s awards night and the features shown on the night paid tribute to the work of the football administrators, the Malta FA’s social responsibility initiatives and the history of the championship trophies.


Former referees Anthony Briguglio and Sammy Attard were honoured by the Malta FA Referees' Department.




MFA Footballer of the Year: Andrew Cohen (Gżira United)
Coach Of the Year: Darren Abdilla (Gżira United)
Young Player of the Year: Jake Grech (Birkirkara)
Foreign Player of the Year: Amadou Samb (Gżira United)
First Division Best Player: Dylan Agius (Pietà Hotspurs)
Second Division Best Player: Sebastian Perdomo (Sta Lucia)
Third Division Best Player: Edward Wileman (Sta Venera Lightnings)
Women’s League Best Player: Dorianne Theuma (Hibernians)
Best Youth League Player: Jan Busuttil (Pietà Hotspurs)
GFA Player of the Year: Christian Mercieca (Victoria Hotspurs)
Futsal Player of the Year: Jovica Milijic (Valletta Futsal Club)
Best Fans Award: Valletta
Fair Play Award: Pietà Hotspurs
Best Goal Award: Matteo Piciollo (Valletta vs Balzan – FA Trophy semi-final)


Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners