Malta Football Association
Malta FA support for Puttinu Cares Marathon
May 21, 2018
Posted in:
National Team

The Malta squad took a break from their training schedule to visit the Puttinu Cares Marathon at the Marsa Sports Grounds on Saturday afternoon.

Led by coach Ray Farrugia, the players mingled freely with the volunteers and participants, while also signing football memorabilia being sold in aid of Puttinu Cares.


“It was a very nice and enriching experience,” Farrugia told


“We wanted to show our support for this marathon and the amazing work being done by Puttinu Cares.


“Our presence at the marathon was our way of saying ‘Thank You’ to Puttinu Cares and all the volunteers.”


The members of the national squad spent time watching some of the matches being played during the marathon.


They took the opportunity to observe and support their famous counterparts from Team MT who participated in the football marathon.


Created by Peter Busuttil, the Malta FA’s FSR official, Team MT is made up of celebrities, entertainers and TV personalities.


These include TV presenters Ben Camille, Xandru Grech, Stephanie Chircop and Carlo Borg Bonaci, singer Fabrizio Faniello, deejays JD Patrick, Joseph Armani, Gianni and Ryan Spiteri, and news journalists Keith and Fabian Demicoli. The team manager is Matthew Psaila.


During Saturday’s visit, Malta FA General Secretary Dr Angelo Chetcuti presented a donation of €2,500 to Puttinu Cares.


Puttinu Cares are one of several beneficiaries of the Malta FA’s Football For Life programme.


Saturday’s visit followed the participation of two selections, representing former Malta internationals, male and female, in the inaugural match of the 2018 Puttinu Cares Marathon on Friday.


Silvio Vella, the national U-21 coach, his assistant Noel Turner, Raymond Vella, Stefan Sultana, Brian Said, Jeffrey Chetcuti, David Camilleri, Mario Muscat and Mark Marlow turned out for the men’s selection.


The members of the veteran women’s team included Dionne Tonna, Sharon Costantino, Marisa Harvey, Nora Agliano, Sonia Farrugia, Kathleen Saliba and Maria Azzopardi.

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners