Malta Football Association
U*BET TROPHY 3RD RD DRAWS - Four direct encounters between Premier League Teams
Oct 29, 2012
Posted in:
Cups & Competitions

The draws for the 3rd Round of the 75th edition of the  U*BET F.A. Trophy were made today and these produced four direct encounters between teams playing in this year's Premier League.


The 3rd round draws of the U*BET FA Trophy, which was given a facelift last year with participation open to clubs from all divisions including those from Gozo, reserved little luck for eight of the Premier league teams. Out of 32 participants in the hat eight teams from the top division were paired against each other when the draws were made by MFA CEO Bjorn Vassallo and Vassileos Kasiotakis, the Maltco Lotteries General Director.


Holders and seeded Hibernians will be facing tricky opponents Mosta, presently enjoying a fine run in the top division. On the other hand, league leaders Valletta, another seeded team, will face Hamrun Spartans who are showing signs of revival after their sloppy league start. Second-placed Birkirkara, also seeded, would have preferred other opponents rather than Tarxien Rainbows, a team also in fine fettle. The other premier teams to meet each other are Floriana (seeded) and Melita in a match which would certainly provide both sides with the opportunity to shake off their current inertia.


The other two seeded clubs in the premier division, Sliema Wanderers and Balzan will be meeting 3rd Division Zebbuġ Rangers and Naxxar Lions from the 1st Division respectively, while  


Rabatand Qormi will clash against Pieta Hotspurs form Division I and Pembroke from Division II.


The three Gozitan teams stiil in the competition, Sannat Lions, Nadur Youngsters and SK Victoria Wanderers  will fight for a place in the last 16 when they in turn come up against St Patrick (Div II) and Division One sides Zejtun Corinthians and Gżira Utd.  


The other pairings are Marsacala v St Venera, Lija v Ghargur, Msida v St Andews, Gudja v Senglea and Zurrieq v Mqabba.


The full list of  matches is as follows;



U*BET F.A. Trophy 3rd Round Draws    
1 Hibernians  vs Mosta    
2 Hamrun S. vs Valletta    
3 Sliema W. vs Zebbug R.    
4 Naxxar L. vs Balzan    
5 B'Kara vs Tarxien R.    
6 Melita vs Floriana    
7 Gzira Utd. vs SK Victoria W.  
8 Pieta H. vs Rabat A.    
9 St Patrick vs Sannat L.    
10 Qormi vs Pembroke Ath.  
11 Lija Ath. vs Gharghur    
12 Msida S.J. vs St Andrews  
13 Zejtun C. vs Nadur Y.    
14 Gudja Utd. vs Senglea Ath.  
15 Zurrieq vs Mqabba    
16 M'Skala vs St Venera L.  
Matches to be played between 30th Nov and 2nd Dec.
Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners