Malta Football Association
Record 67 teams to compete in this season’s FA Trophy
Aug 6, 2018
Posted in:
BOV Challenge League
BOV Amateur League A
BOV Amateur League B
Cups & Competitions
Dr Angelo Chetcuti, the Malta FA General Secretary, during the draw. Photo: Joe Borg/MFA
Dr Angelo Chetcuti, the Malta FA General Secretary, during the draw. Photo: Joe Borg/MFA

The draws of the preliminary, first and second rounds of the 2018-19 FA Trophy were made on Monday at the Centenary Hall.

A record number of 67 clubs are competing in the FA Trophy, won by Valletta FC last season, as, for the first time, all the Gozitan teams have entered the cup competition.


The draws were conducted by Dr Angelo Chetcuti, the General Secretaery of the Malta FA, and Rodney Pisani, the Deputy General Secretary of the Association who leads the Competitions Department.


The clubs in the BOV First, Second and Third Divisions together with those from the Gozo FA were involved in the draws of the initial rounds. The 14 top-flight sides enter the fray in the third round.


The 2018-19 FA Trophy competition kicks off on September 1/2 with eight matches from the preliminary round followed by the first round ties, on September 8-9, and the second round fixtures from October 26-28.


St Lawrence Spurs vs Għaxaq
Munxar Falcons vs Nadur Youngsters
Sannat Lions vs Ta’ Xbiex
Marsaskala vs Dingli Swallows
Oratory Youths vs Għajnsielem
Victoria Hotspurs vs Msida St Joseph
Qala Saints vs Għargħur
SK Victoria Wandferers vs Mtarfa

Ties to be played on September 1 and 2


Qala/Għargħur vs Xagħra United
Marsaskala/Dingli vs Sannat/Ta’ Xbiex
SK Victoria W./Mtarfa vs St Lawrence/Għaxaq
Kirkop United vs Kerċem Ajax
Oratory/Għajnsielem vs Xewkija Tigers
Żebbuġ Rovers vs Mdina Knights
Żurrieq vs Munxar/Nadur
Għarb Rangers vs Xgħajra Tornados
Victoria H./Msida SJ vs Attard

Ties to be played on September 8 and 9

Gudja United vs Sirens
Melita vs Swieqi United
Marsaskala/Dingli/Sannat/Ta’ Xbiex vs Qrendi
St George’s vs Lija Athletic
Santa Venera L. vs Pembroke Athleta
Żebbuġ Rangers vs Marsaxlokk
Naxxar Lions vs Żejtun Corinthians
Victoria H./Msida/Attard vs Siġġiewi
Mellieħa SC v Kalkara
Kirkop/Kerċem v Vittoriosa Stars
Żebbuġ Rovers/Mdina vs Għarb/Xgħajra
Luqa St Andrews vs Rabat Ajax
Fgura United vs SK Victoria W./Mtarfa/St Lawrence/Għaxaq
Santa Lucia vs Birżebbuġa St Peter’s
Mġarr United vs San Ġwann
Oratory/Għajnsielem/Xewkija vs Mqabba
Żabbar St Patrick vs Żurrieq/Munxar/Nadur
Marsa vs Qala/Għargħur/Xagħra

Ties to be played from October 26-28

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners