Malta Football Association
Vella names final U-21 squad for Belgium qualifier
Sep 5, 2018
Posted in:
National Team
Malta U21 team before the Sweden home (0-4) defeat last June 7th, 2018
Malta U21 team before the Sweden home (0-4) defeat last June 7th, 2018

Malta Under 21 Team coach Silvio Vella has announced his final 20-man squad for the Belgium match at the Centenary Stadium this Friday, kick off at 5pm.

The squad includes the experience of players like Jean Borg, Dunstan Vella, Myles Beerman, Jake Grech, Jurgen Degabriele and Kyrian Nwoko who have already made their senior mark during a training camp in Austria last June.


Dunstan Vella and Jake Grech were in the senior team provisional squad until last week, but will feature for the U21’s in this difficult match on Friday.


Birkirkara’s wingback Kurt Zammit returns after missing with injury the Sweden 0-4 defeat last June, and a welcome return also for another Birkirkara player, Matthew Guillaumier, who missed most of last season following a lengthy spell on the sidelines.


He is looking sharp and could be one of the key figures for coach Silvio Vella for this match and the friendly coming up early next week (Tuesday) against Georgia.


Newcomers in this final squad for the Belgium game are Qormi midfielder Yannick Yankam, Christian Mercieca who plays for Gozo Champions Victoria Hotspurs, and Jan Busuttil who is also relishing his first taste of Premier League football with newly promoted Pieta' Hotspurs, and regardless of his young age has integrating very well in this Malta U21 squad.


On Friday last week in a practise match Malta U21 beat Pembroke Athleta from Division One 4-0 with a brace each for Kyrian Nwoko 42, 47, and Jurgen Degabriele 72, 79min.


Malta U21 Final Squad :- Goalkeepers – Jake Galea (Sliema Wanderers), Matthew Grech (Floriana).


Defenders – Jean Borg (Valletta), Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderers), Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans), Kurt Zammit (Birirkara), Michele Sansone (Sliema Wanderers), Dunstan Vella (Hibernians).


Midfielders – Myles Beerman (Birkirkara), Matthew Guillaumier (Birkirkara), Nikolai Muscat (Gżira United), Yannick Yankam (Qormi), Zach Scerri (Gżira United), Dylan Agius (Pieta’ Hotspurs), Jake Grech (Birkirkara).


Forwards – Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians), Zachary Brincat (Mosta), Jan Busuttil (Pieta’ Hotspurs), Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta), Christian Mercieca (Victoria Hotspurs).

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners