Malta Football Association
Unbeaten Żurrieq crowned BOV Third Division champions
Apr 15, 2019
Posted in:
BOV Second Division
BOV Third Division
Photos: Stephen Gatt
Photos: Stephen Gatt

  • Photos: Stephen Gatt
  • Photos: Stephen Gatt

Żurrieq celebrated their BOV Third Division title success in style as they came from behind to beat Msida St Joseph 2-1 in their final league match at the Centenary Stadium.

Saturday’s come-from-behind victory crowned a brilliant season for Żurrieq who went through their league campaign unbeaten, winning 18 matches and drawing the other four for a total of 58 points.


It was Msida St Joseph who took the lead after 21 minutes thanks to Mohammed Telessi but Żurrieq showed character to overturn the deficit.


Dylan Darmanin equalised two minutes into the second half and Ryan Farrugia scored the winner 11 minutes from time as Żurrieq, led by coach Jimmy Briffa, ended their title-winning campaign on a top note.


Żurrieq are making a return to the BOV Second Division after a three-year absence.


After the match, Malta FA Vice-President Ludovico Micallef presented the BOV Third Division championdship trophy to the Żurrieq players, in the presence of club president Dino Bonnici, committee members and supporters.


Xgħajra Tornados hav also secured promotion after finishing second in the BOV Third Division standings, seven points behind Żurrieq, while Msida St Joseph will contest the promotion-relegation play-off on the back of their third-place finish.




17 GOALS – Royter Degiorgio (XGĦAJRA TORNADOS FC)
14 GOALS – Bledi Alla (ATTARD FC)
13 GOALS – Matthew Borg (MSIDA ST JOSEPH FC)
                      Ryan Sciberras (MDINA KNIGHTS FC)
11 GOALS – Terence Scerri (ŻURRIEQ FC)

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners