Malta Football Association
Birkirkara girls win third consecutive championship
Apr 24, 2019
Posted in:
BOV Women's League

Birkirkara secured the BOV Women’s League title after obtaining the point they needed to seal their mission following a 2-2 draw against Hibernians at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday night.

With one game remaining, the Stripes have a four-point lead over second-placed Mġarr United going into their final league clash next week.


Led by Melania Bajada, Birkirkara have been crowned champions for the third consecutive season, in the process winning their eighth championship title overall after another excellent season.


In 19 games, the Stripes scored 77 goals and conceded only five – a record that underlines the quality of the team coached by Bajada who has now won her second championship at the helm of this team.


In Tuesday’s match against Hibernians, the Stripes opened a two-goal lead inside the first 13 minutes.


Alishia Sultana broke the deadlock, curling a splendid shot past Dorienne Grech. Shortly afterwards, Ylenia Carabott’s cross was handled inside the box with the referee ordering a penalty for the Stripes. Captain Stephania Farrugia converted to give her side a 2-0 lead. 


Despite being two goals down, the Paolites refused to give up. They pushed for a goal to revive their hopes, hitting the crossbar twice through Dorianne Theuma and Jade Flask.


They made their pressure count on 38 minutes when Shona Zammit poked the ball home from close range. 


In the final stages of the game, Hibernians levelled terms. Zammit sent an inviting cross into the box and Theuma capitalised, rounding the Birkirkara goalkeeper before slotting the ball into an empty net. 


Birkirkara will be awarded the league trophy in their upcoming game against Mġarr United which will mark the end of the 2018-19 league campaign. Attention will then shift to the Women's Knock-Out where the Stripes will be vying to claim a domestic double. 




Section A

Birkirkara 51 points (after 19 matches); Mġarr United 47; Hibernians 33; Kirkop United 17.

Swieqi United vs Mosta – Mġarr Ground

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners