Malta Football Association
Last-gasp goals seal Melita youths’ success in Section B
May 1, 2019
Posted in:
Youths Section A
Youths Section B
Youths Section C
Youths Section D
Youths Section E
Melita players celebrate with the Section B winners' trophy.
Melita players celebrate with the Section B winners' trophy.

  • Melita players celebrate with the Section B winners' trophy.
  • Mqabba – Section C winners
  • Għaxaq – Section E winners.

Melita are the winners of Section B of the 2018/19 Youth League.

The Amateurs sealed their success on Tuesday night as they overcame Swieqi United 3-1 at their own ground to maintain their two-point gap on San Ġwann who won their match against Qormi 1-0.


Tuesday’s match at the Melita Ground produced an exciting finale with Melita scoring twice in stoppage time to secure their win.


Mark Russo had given Melita a 40th-minute lead but Luke Taliana equalised for Swieqi with six minutes remaining.


The game looked set to finish 1-1 but late goals from Eman Falzon and Brandon Agius wrapped up the win and title for Melita who ended their league campaign with a total of 46 points.


San Ġwann, second on 44 points, have also been promoted to Section A while Kirkop United and Pembroke Athleta have been relegated to Section C.




Mqabba completed back-to-back promotions after winning Section C of this season’s Youth League.


As last season, Mqabba were the outstanding team in their section, winning 16 of their 18 league matches and drawing the other two. 


Led by coach George Vella, Mqabba are on an impressive 37-match unbeaten run in the Youth League. The last time the Mqabba U-19s lost a league match was on 17 April 2017 – a 2-3 defeat against Santa Venera Lightings.


Mqabba, who beat Attard 4-0 in their last match, completed their league campaign with 50 points, 10 more than Santa Lucia who have also been promoted to Section B.


Italian striker Luca Celotto was Mqabba’s leading scorer with 13 goals.



Għaxaq have won Section E of the Youth League after beating St George’s on penalties in the title decider at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Tuesday night.


The match finished 0-0 after extra-time but the Għaxaq youngsters prevailed 4-3 on penalties.


The decider was needed after the two teams – both promoted to Section D – finished level on 43 points.

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners