Malta Football Association
Hibs defender Agius named MFA Footballer of the Year
May 25, 2019
Posted in:
BOV Premier League
BOV Challenge League
BOV Amateur League A
BOV Amateur League B
BOV Women's League
Women's U/19 League
Futsal - Elite
Photo: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
Photo: Domenic Aquilina/MFA

Andrei Agius is the 2018-19 MFA Footballer of the Year.


The Hibernians defender claimed the most prestigious individual honour in Maltese football at the 2019 MFA Awards, held on Friday at the Mediterranean Conference Centre.

Like the 2018/19 title race, the contest for the MFA Footballer of the Year Award was a Hibernians-Valletta affair. The other finalists were Valletta trio Steve Borg, Henry Bonello and Rowen Muscat together with Hibs midfielder Jake Grech.


Agius, also a regular player for the national team, emerged on a top in a poll among coaches, captains and officials of the 14 BOV Premier League teams, coaches of the Malta FA Technical Centre and a panel of football journalists.


In the other categories, Birkirkara midfielder Matthew Guillaumier was named Best Young Player ahead of Hibernians wing-back Joseph Mbong and Gżira United’s Juan Corbalan.

Young striker Haley Bugeja also took centre-stage after winning no fewer than three awards – Women’s League Best Player, U-19 Women’s League Best Player and top scorer of the senior women’s league.


Hibernians coach Stefano Sanderra claimed the best coach accolade while Valletta’s Miguel Angel Alba was voted best foreigner of season 2018/19.


The first inductees in the Malta FA Hall Of Fame are Gilbert Agius, Eddie Vella and Victor Scerri.


Jurgen Degabriele’s goal – a delightful volley in Hibs’ 1-0 win over Floriana on matchday 16 – was voted best goal.


Fr Hilary Tagliaferro, the president of the Youth FA, was honoured by Malta FA President Norman Darmanin Demajo who presented the President’s Award to the long-serving football administrator and coach.




MFA Footballer of the Year: Andrei Agius (Hibernians)
Coach Of the Year: Stefano Sanderra (Hibernians)
Young Player of the Year: Matthew Guillaumier (Birkirkara)
Foreign Player of the Year: Miguel Angel Alba (Valletta)
First Division Best Player: Ige Adeshina (Sirens)
Second Division Best Player: Gilbert Martin (Fgura United)
Third Division Best Player: Claudio Calleja (Żurrieq)
Women’s League Best Player: Haley Bugeja (Mġarr United)
Women’sU-19 League Best Player: Haley Bugeja (Mġarr United)
Best Youth League Player: Paul Mbong (Birkirkara)
GFA Player of the Year: Ferdinando Apap (Victoria Hotspurs)
Futsal Player of the Year: Celino Alves (Luxol St Andrews Futsal)
Best Fans Award: Valletta
Fair Play Award: Fgura United
Best Goal Award: Jurgen Degabriele (Floriana vs Hibernians – MD16)
Hall Of Fame: Gilbert Agius, Eddie Vella, Victor Scerri

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners