Malta Football Association
Stripes to face teams from Lithuania, Albania and Ireland
Jun 21, 2019
Posted in:
BOV Women's League

Birkirkara will face Gintra Universitetas (Lithuania), KF Vllaznia (Albania) and Wexford Youths Women (Ireland) in Group 10 of the qualifying round of the 2019/20 UEFA Women’s Champions League.

The mini-tournament will be hosted by Gintra Universitetas, of Lithuania from 7 to 13 August, 2019.


The qualifying round draw, made on Friday afternoon at UEFA’s Nyon headquarters, featured 40 of the record 62 teams who have entered the 2019/20 UEFA Women's Champions League.


The 40 entrants (the Scottish and Austrian runners-up, and the champions of the remaining 38 associations) will compete in the qualifying round for 10 spots alongside those 22 sides already in the knockout phase.


For the qualifying round draw, the hopefuls were ranked according to their coefficient, and in the draw one team from each of the four established seeding positions was allocated to one of the 10 groups.


Birkirkara earned the right to represent Malta in the UEFA Women’s Champions League after retaining the BOV Women’s League title last season.


The 10 qualifying group winners proceed to the 16 August draw for the round of 32, with the two-legged knockout phase commencing in September.


Holders Lyon, the top two clubs from the 10 highest-ranked countries (a list which also includes Lyon) and the champions of the 11th and 12th-ranked nations (Scotland and Austria) in accordance with the association coefficient rankings receive byes to the round of 32, as per the access list.


The 2019/20 UWCL final will be played in Vienna, Austria. 

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners