Malta Football Association
Birkirkara youths start title defence against St Andrews
Jul 18, 2019
Posted in:
Youths Section A
Youths Section B
Youths Section C
Youths Section D
Youths Section E
Birkirkara, winners of the 2018/19 Youth League. Photo: Stephen Gatt
Birkirkara, winners of the 2018/19 Youth League. Photo: Stephen Gatt

The draws of the 2019/20 Youth League fixtures were made earlier this week with last season’s Section A winners Birkirkara starting the defence of their title against St Andrews.

Birkirkara claimed Section A honours last season after edging Pietà Hotspurs 2-1 in a decider. The latter will kick off their season with a match against Balzan.


Section B winners Melita take on Ħamrun Spartans on matchday 1 while San Ġwann, who were also promoted at the end of last season, start their top-tier campaign with a game against Sliema Wanderers.


The other opening-day Section A fixture sees Valletta take on Mosta.


In Section B, neighbours Hibernians and Santa Lucia cross swords on the opening weekend. The Paolites lost their Section A status last season while Santa Lucia were promoted from Section C.


Mqabba, promoted as Section C winners, meet Żebbuġ Rangers.


The opening-day programme for Section B also includes fixtures between Żabbar St Patrick and Lija Athletic, Rabat Ajax vs Swieqi United, and Naxxar Lions vs Qormi.


Section A and B will commence on Monday, 23rd September while the remaining sections (C, D and E) will kick off on 2nd September, 2019.


Teams in Section A and B will play their fixtures on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday while Section C, D and E matches will take place on Wednesday and Thursday.





Mosta vs Valletta
St Andrews vs Birkirkara
Pietà Hotspurs vs Balzan
Melita vs Ħamrun Spartans
San Ġwann vs Sliema Wanderers


Żabbar SP vs Lija Athletic
Hibernians vs Santa Lucia
Mqabba vs Żebbuġ Rangers
Rabat Ajax vs Swieqi United
Naxxar Lions vs Qormi


Sirens vs Birżebbuġa SP
Luqa SA vs Kirkop United
Pembroke Athleta vs Marsaxlokk
Floriana vs Attard
Mellieħa vs Tarxien Rainbows


Mġarr United vs Gżira United
Siġġiewi vs Msida St Joseph
Marsa vs Xgħajra Tornadoes
Fgura United vs Żejtun Corinthians
St George’s vs Għaxaq


Kalkara United vs Santa Venera Lightnings
Marsaskala vs Għargħur
Mtarfa vs Ta’ Xbiex
Żurrieq start league campaign on second day


Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners