Malta Football Association
Valletta retain BOV Super Cup after comeback win
Dec 21, 2019
Posted in:
Cups & Competitions
PHOTO: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
PHOTO: Domenic Aquilina/MFA

  • PHOTO: Domenic Aquilina/MFA
  • PHOTO: Joe Borg/MFA
  • PHOTO: Joe Borg.MFA

2019 BOVER SUPER CUP – 21/12/2019



Champions Valletta secured the final prize of 2019 after coming from behind to beat Balzan 2-1 in the BOV Super Cup encounter, played on Saturday at the National Stadium.


The third final between these two teams in the space of 12 months was a balanced affair. Balzan took a first-half lead with a fine finish from Uros Ljubomirac but Valletta fought back to turn the tables on the FA Trophy holders with second-half goals from strikers Mario Fontanella and Kyrian Nwoko.


With this success, Valletta have not only retained the BOV Super Cup, contested annually by the champions and FA Trophy holders, they have also cemented their position at the top of the all-time winners list with 13 triumphs.


It also marked the first major trophy for their coach Darren Abdilla who opted for three changes from the team that edged Ħamrun Spartans in their last league match. Ryan Camilleri, Nicholas Pulis and Kyrian Nwoko came in for Jonathan Caruana, Irakli Dzaria and Kevin Tulimieri. On the other hand, Steve Bezzina and Ricardo Calixto Correa were preferred to Michael Johnson and Stefan Dimic for Balzan.


The Citizens showed the brighter ideas in the early stages. After eight minutes, Nwoko failed to connect with a low cross from Joseph Zerafa from the left. Five minutes later, Pulis summoned a powerful shot from the distance but Balzan goalkeeper Kristijan Naumovski tipped the ball over the bar.


Balzan started to venture forward and in the 32nd minute, Correa received a through-ball on the left but his conclusion from inside the area was saved by Henry Bonello. Two minutes later, Balzan went ahead. Correa released Ljubomirac on the left and the latter cut inside the area before hitting low past Bonello.


Valletta replied with a cross from the right by Fontanella but Naumovski saved.


Three minutes into the second half, Valletta levelled. Mario Fontanella exchanged the ball with Pulis on the left before curling his shot past Naumovski.


At the other end, Steve Pisani’s effort was blocked by Bonello.


It was Valletta who forged 2-1 ahead on 59 minutes. Zerafa’s cross from the left sailed towards Kyrian Nwoko who chested the ball down before producing a volley that hit the underside of the crossbar before dropping into the net.


Two-one down, Balzan coach Jacques Scerri introduced striker Luke Montebello for flank defender Bezzina as the FA Trophy winners tried to push for the equaliser. But Valletta stayed in control to hold off their opponents’ efforts and preserve their victory which earned them the Super Cup trophy that was presented to captain Steve Borg by Malta FA Senior Vice-President Ludovico Micallef.


Henry Bonello, Steve Borg, Ryan Camilleri, Matteo Piciollo (82 Shaun Dimech), Kyrian Nwoko (89 Bojan Kaljevic), Jean Borg, Enmy Pena Beltre, Joseph Zerafa, Nicholas Pulis, Rowen Muscat, Mario Fontanella (90+2 Kevin Tulimieri).
Coach: Darren Abdilla


Kristijan Naumovski, Augustine Loof, Aleksandar Kosoric, Steve Pisani, Steve Bezzina (73 Luke Montebello), Paul Fenech, Alfred Effiong, Uros Ljubomirac, Ivan Bozovic, Ricaro Correa Duarte, Andrija Majdevac.
Coach: Jacques Scerri


Referee: Philip Farrugia


Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Roberto Vella.


Fourth Official: Trustin Farrugia Cann.


Yellow Card: Correa.


Scorers: 34 Uros Ljubomirac (B); 48 Mario Fontanella (V); 59 Kyrian Nwoko (V).



Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners