Malta Football Association
2020/21 UEFA Nations League draw in Amsterdam on Tuesday
Mar 2, 2020
Posted in:
National Team
The UEFA Nations League trophy.
The UEFA Nations League trophy.

The draw of the 2020-21 UEFA Nations League takes place on Tuesday (tomorrow) with the ceremony getting under way at 18:00 CET in Amsterdam.

Malta is in League D along with Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia and Liechtenstein, who are in Pot 1, and Andorra and San Marino in Pot 2. The UEFA Nations League will be the first official competition for Devis Mangia as Head Coach of the National Teams.


The draw kicks off with League D and Pot 2, which contains three balls, with teams assigned to groups in ascending order from D1 to D2. The draw continues with Pot 1. The draws for the other Leagues follow a similar procedure, though with four pots.


Who can teams face?

The 55 associations have been split into four Leagues according to their position in the UEFA National Team Coefficient Rankings(1–16 in League A, 17–32 in League B, 33-48 in League C, 49–55 in League D). Within each League teams have been subdivided into two (League D) or four pots (for Leagues A, B and C), again according to the rankings.


Pot 1: Portugal, Netherlands, England, Switzerland
Pot 2: Belgium, France, Spain, Italy
Pot 3: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden
Pot 4: Croatia, Poland, Germany, Iceland


Pot 1: Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic
Pot 2: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland
Pot 3: Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland
Pot 4: Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary, Romania


Pot 1: Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Georgia
Pot 2: North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Cyprus
Pot 3: Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Luxembourg
Pot 4: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova


Pot 1: Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein
Pot 2: Andorra, Malta, San Marino


Are there any restrictions?


Not as things stand! There are typically three restrictions placed on draws:


• Prohibited team clashes (teams who cannot be paired as decided by the UEFA Executive Committee)

• Winter venue restrictions (groups may include a maximum of two venues with high or medium risk of severe winter conditions) 

• Excessive travel restrictions (teams cannot be paired if travel time is eight hours of more, including flight and 90 minutes ground operations) 


Because of how the Leagues and draw pots have fallen this time around, there are currently no potential clashes.


How do the Leagues work?


Teams play each other home and away, with the four group winners of League A qualifying for the UEFA Nations League Finals in June 2021 that feature semi-finals, a third-place match and the final.


The group winners in Leagues B, C and D gain promotion and those who finish bottom of the groups in Leagues A and B will be relegated.


As League C has four groups while League D has only two, the two League C teams to be relegated will be determined by two-leg play-offs in March 2022. If a team due to participate in the play-offs qualifies for the 2022 FIFA World Cup play-offs, the League C teams ranked 47th and 48th in the overall UEFA Nations League rankings are automatically relegated.


When do the matches and finals take place?


UEFA will confirm the 162 League phase fixtures, with dates and kick-off times, as soon as possible after the draw. Kick-off times are 15:00 CET (Saturday and Sunday, optional), 18:00 CET and 20:45 CET. Matchweeks are below:
Matchday 1: 3–5 September 2020
Matchday 2: 6–8 September 2020
Matchday 3: 8–10 October 2020
Matchday 4: 11–13 October 2020
Matchday 5: 12–14 November 2020
Matchday 6: 15–17 November 2020
Finals: 2, 3, 6 June 2021
Relegation play-offs: 24, 25, 28, 29 March 2022

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners