Malta Football Association
Xgħajra’s Degiorgio leads scorers’ list in Second Division
Apr 3, 2020
Posted in:
BOV Amateur League A
Xgħajra Tornados' striker Royter Degiorgio is the leading scorer in the BOV Second Division League. PHOTO: Stephen Gatt
Xgħajra Tornados' striker Royter Degiorgio is the leading scorer in the BOV Second Division League. PHOTO: Stephen Gatt

Royter Degiorgio has continued his scoring streak as he is the leading scorer of the BOV Second Division League with 13 goals before the competitions were suspended due to the current COVID-19 crisis.

Degiorgio finished as the top scorer in the BOV Third Division League last season with a total of 17 goals. This is his sixth season with Xgħajra Tornados, netting 72 goals in 101 matches in his previous five. During this campaign, Degiorgio has scored 13 in 18 games. The 28-year-old striker, whose best tally was 26 goals in 23 matches in season 2017-18, has scored 59.1% of the Tornados’ tally of 22 goals.


Degiorgio is an important player for Xgħajra who are fighting to avoid relegation from the Second Division.


As far as his personal record is concerned, Degiorgio has scored one in each of seven matches (7) and two braces in three games (6). He also netted nine goals in eight full matches, two before being substituted and another two as a substitute. He played 1,543 minutes in 18 matches – a record for most appearances for Xgħajra this season and an average of 0.72 goals per game.


The situation at the top of the BOV Second Division top scorers’ list is tight. Marsaxlokk striker Ryan Micallef is a close second with 12 goals, one behind Degiorgio, with Kenneth Aquilina on 11. Aquilina joined Marsaxlokk from Mġarr United during the January transfer window. Paul Lapira (Marsa) has scored 10 goals while Larson Mallia (Kalkara) and Erik Pietribiasi (Marsa) have netted nine.


A total of 349 goals have been scored in 120 matches – an average of 2.91 goals per match.The times of the goals: 0-15 (41); 16-30 (59); 31-45 (59); 46-60 (50); 61-75 (60); 76-90 (57); Injury time (23).


1 – Royter Degiorgio (Xghajra T.) v Luqa SA 3-1– 12th September 2019
100 – Paul Lapira (Marsa) v Kalkara 3-3 – 3rd November 2019
200 – Nestor Luis Silva (Xghajra T.) v Rabat A. 2-3 – 15th December 2019
300 – Randall Refalo (Kalkara) v Rabat A. 4-6 – 23rd February 2020


Dale Mifsud (San Ġwann) v Rabat Ajax 1-0 (31 January 2020) – 16 years, 7 months, 20 days


Alan Tabone (Marsaxlokk) v Xgħajra Tornadoes 2-1 (6 October 2019) – 37 years, 11 months, 6 days


San Ġwann – 13 scorers – average age: 20


Żurrieq – 14 scorers – average age: 29

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners