Malta Football Association
2020/21 National Youth League kicks off on Monday
Nov 23, 2020
Posted in:
Youths Section A
Youths Section B
Youths Section C
Youths Section D
Balzan won Section A of the Youth League last season. PHOTO: Stephen Gatt
Balzan won Section A of the Youth League last season. PHOTO: Stephen Gatt

The 2020/21 National Youth League kicks off on Monday (this evening) with several matches being played behind closed doors at different venues. 

For this season, the number of sections have been reduced from five to four with 12 teams in each category.


Section A consists of last season’s winners Balzan, Mosta, Valletta, Pietà Hotspurs, Melita, Sliema Wanderers, San Ġwann, St Andrews, Ħamrun Spartans, Birkirkara, newcomers Hibernians, last season’s Section B winners, and Lija Athletic.


Section B will be contested by Santa Lucia, Naxxar Lions, Swieqi United, Mqabba, Qormi, Żebbuġ Rangers, Żabbar St Patrick, Rabat Ajax and the four promoted teams from Section C – Floriana, Pembroke Athleta, Luqa St Andrew’s and Attard, the Section C winners last season. They will start their league commitments this evening and tomorrow night.


The teams in Section C are Tarxien Rainbows, Marsaxlokk, Marsa, Kirkop United, Mellieħa, Sirens, Msida St Joseph, Fgura United, Għaxaq, Mġarr United, St George’s and Żejtun Corinthians. The latter six teams played in Section D last season with Fgura United topping the category. Their league campaign starts tomorrow (one match), the majority play on Wednesday evening (4 matches) and one match is scheduled for Thursday evening.


The remaining categories (D and E) have been combined and will consist of Gżira United, Xgħajra Tornados, Siġġiewi, Kalkara United (last season’s Section E champions), Santa Venera Lightnings, Marsaskala, Għargħur, Mtarfa, Ta’ Xbiex, Żurrieq plus newcomers Senglea Athletic and Dingli Swallows. Section D kicks off with two matches on Wednesday evening and four on Thursday night.


The Youth leagues are planned to be played on two rounds. The top two teams in Section B, C and D will win promotion to Sections A, B and C respectively. 

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners