Malta Football Association
UEFA preliminary draw for FIFA World Cup 2022 on Monday
Dec 4, 2020
Posted in:
National Team

The UEFA preliminary draw for the FIFA World Cup 2022 will take place on Monday, 7 December at 18:00 CET as a virtual event in Zurich.

Belgium have been confirmed as the top-seeded team in Pot 1 following the publication of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking. The Red Devils will be joined in Pot 1 by the other top-placed European teams in the ranking: France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands.


Malta, who finished second in the UEFA Nations League Group D1 on nine points and are on a seven-match unbeaten run, remain in Pot 6 along with Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar and San Marino. Under the guidance of Italian coach Devis Mangia, Malta have risen 10 places in the FIFA world ranking in the October-November period.


Based on the ranking, the remaining 40 UEFA member associations will be allocated as follows:


Pot 2: Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania


Pot 3: Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece and Finland


Pot 4: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia and Luxembourg


Pot 5: Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Latvia and Andorra




The teams drawn will be allocated to a group in alphabetical order, from Group A to Group J (i.e. the first team drawn will be allocated to Group A, the second team to Group B and so forth). When a draw constraint applies or is anticipated to apply, the team drawn will be allocated to the first available group in alphabetical order as indicated by the draw constraint programme.


As Pot 6 contains only five teams, these teams will be drawn into the sixth position in groups F to J.


All teams within a group will play each other twice in a home-and-away format between March and November 2021. The ten group winners will qualify directly for Qatar 2022, with the ten runners-up advancing to the play-offs.


Besides the ten runners-up from the group stage, the play-offs will also include the two best group winners from the UEFA Nations League 2020-2021 overall ranking that did not qualify directly for the FIFA World Cup 2022 and did not enter the play-offs as runners-up. The 12 teams will be split into three play-off paths, which will feature single-leg knockout matches in March 2022 to determine the last three European nations to book a place in Qatar.


Fans around the world will be able to follow the draw live on and through FIFA’s broadcast partners.

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners