Malta Football Association
Malta U17s to face Montenegro, Denmark and Turkey
Dec 9, 2020
Posted in:
U17 - UEFA European Under 17 Qualifiers

The Malta Under-17 team will face Turkey, Denmark and Montenegro in Group 1 of the 2021/2022 UEFA Under-17 Championship.

The 13 qualifying round four-team tournaments are scheduled to be played between July and November 2021.


Hosts Israel qualify directly for the 21st edition of the UEFA Under-17 Championship in May 2022 while top seeds Netherlands and Spain were awarded a bye to the elite round in spring 2022.


The ongoing qualifying round draw, at UEFA’s headquarters in Nyon, involved 52 of the 55 entrants on the road to the finals in Israel.


Malta were in Pot D for the draw along with Lithuania, Albania, Estonia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Luxembourg, San Marino and Gibraltar.


The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round along with the four third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.

2021/22 qualifying round draw


Group 1: Turkey, Denmark, Montenegro, Malta

Group 2: Sweden, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania

Group 3: Belgium, Norway, Azerbaijan, Luxembourg

Group 4: Hungary, Iceland, Georgia, Estonia

Group 5: Republic of Ireland, Poland, North Macedonia, Andorra

Group 6: Germany, Russia, Romania, San Marino

Group 7: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, Finland, Gibraltar

Group 8: France, Greece, Cyprus, Moldova

Group 9: Austria, Slovenia, Faroe Islands, Kosovo

Group 10: Serbia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Liechtenstein

Group 11: Portugal, Ukraine, Wales, Kazakhstan

Group 12: Italy, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Albania

Group 13: England, Slovakia, Belarus, Armenia 

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners