Malta Football Association
Five all-Premier League clashes in Last 32 of FA Trophy
Jan 14, 2021
Posted in:
Cups & Competitions
National Amateur Cup

Ten BOV Premier League clubs will be involved in direct clashes in the Last 32 of this season’s FA Trophy as the draw produced some intriguing duels.

Balzan, the last winners of the FA Trophy in season 2018-19 (the 2019-20 edition was not completed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will launch their cup defence with a tough tie against Premier League high-flyers Mosta.


Current champions Floriana, who were seeded for the draw along with the remaining top-six teams in last season’s league classification and Balzan as holders, and rivals Valletta were also handed difficult ties against fellow top-flight teams Santa Lucia and Gudja United.


In the other two all-Premier League encounters, Hibernians take on Żejtun Corinthians and Birkirkara face neighbours Lija Athletic.


BOV Premier League leaders Ħamrun Spartans will be crossing over to Gozo for their FA Trophy debut this season after being draw against Sannat Lions, one of five Gozo FA Division One clubs to reach the last 32 of the main cup competition.


Għajnsielem and Victoria Hotspurs, were drawn against each other – the only direct clash between Gozitan teams.


Floriana vs Santa Lucia
Valletta vs Gudja United
Hibernians vs Żejtun Corinthians
Sirens vs Fgura United
Birkirkara vs Lija Athletic
Gżira United vs Mqabba
Balzan vs Mosta
Żebbuġ Rangers vs Marsa
St Andrew’s vs Sliema Wanderers
Nadur Youngsters vs Senglea Athletic
Għajnsielem vs Victoria Hotspurs
Qormi vs Tarxien Rainbows
Sannat Lions vs Ħamrun Spartans
Pembroke Athleta vs Marsaxlokk
Naxxar Lions vs Swieqi United
Birżebbuġa St Peter’s vs Xagħra United

Ties to be played between 2-4 February and 9-11 February, 2021.




The semi-finals draw of the inaugural National Amateur Cup was also held today.


Żurrieq meet Birżebbuġa St Peters while Msida St Joseph take on Siġġiewi with a coveted place in the final at stake.


The two semi-finals are scheduled to take place on 20/21 February, 2021.




The first-round fixtures of the Women’s Under-15 Knock-Out were also drawn yesterday.


Żebbuġ Rangers vs Kirkop United
Mġarr United vs Swieqi United
Mtarfa vs Mosta
Bye – Birkirkara

Ties to be played on 23 January, 2021

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners