Malta Football Association
NEWS:
Malta women to face Denmark trip in opening World Cup qualifier
May 10, 2021
Posted in:
General

The Malta women’s national team will launch their 2023 Women’s World Cup qualification campaign with a trip to Pot 1 side Denmark on September 16. Mark Gatt’s first home game will be five days later – on September 21 - when Malta will host Bosnia-Herzegovina, who were in Pot 3.


In Group E, Malta were pitted alongside 2022 UEFA Women’s Euro participants Denmark and Russia, Bosnia, Azerbaijan and Montenegro.

 

After the opening double-header, Malta will face two away games in October when they meet Russia (Pot 2) on the 21st before taking on Azerbaijan (Pot 4) on the 26th.

 

The final commitments for 2021 will be a home game against Montenegro, who were in Pot 6, on November 26 and an away game at Bosnia-Herzegovina on November 30.

 

The qualifiers will resume in April of 2022, with Malta hosting Denmark and Russia on the 8th and the 12th.

 

Gatt’s final two qualifiers will be against Azerbaijan on September 2nd while on September 6th, Malta will wrap up the campaign with an away game at Montenegro.

 

MALTA’S GROUP E SCHEDULE

16/09/2021 (Thursday): Denmark vs Malta

21/09/2021 (Tuesday): Malta vs Bosnia-Herzegovina

21/10/2021 (Thursday): Russia vs Malta

26/10/2021 (Tuesday): Azerbaijan vs Malta

26/11/2021 (Friday): Malta vs Montenegro

30/11/2021 (Tuesday): Bosnia-Herzegovina vs Malta

8/04/2022 (Friday): Malta vs Denmark

12/04/2022 (Tuesday): Malta vs Russia

02/09/2022 (Friday): Malta vs Azerbaijan

06/09/2022 (Tuesday): Montenegro vs Malta

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners