Malta Football Association
50th Birkirkara win over Hamrun Spartans in history
Aug 24, 2021
Posted in:
BOV Premier League
(c) Domenic Aquilina
(c) Domenic Aquilina

  • (c) Domenic Aquilina
  • (c) Domenic Aquilina
  • (c) Domenic Aquilina

Match Day 2 of the 2021/22 BOV Premier Division brought us some interesting statistical facts, with Hamrun Spartans’ title defence kicking off with two identical successive defeats (1-2) against Valletta and Birkirkara. Valletta were the last champions to suffer the same fate, losing their two opening matches in season 2018-19 against Sliema Wandererers (0-3) and Hibernians (1-2).

Four players scored in both match days since the opening of the season. These are Federico Falcone (Birkirkara), Maxuell Maia da Silva (Gzira United), Jake Grech (Hibernians) and David Kemar Reid (Sirens).

Birkirkara midfielder, Claudio Bonanni, was the first player to receive a red card this season. He was dismissed in stoppage time by referee, Trustin Farrugia Cann, for serious foul play.

Hibernians defender Timothy Tabone Desira was the 90th Maltese player to be introduced in the Premier League this season. He substituted Erjon Beu in the 89th minute against Gudja United (2-1).

Another Hibernians defender, Sergio Rafael dos Anjos, was shown the 50th yellow card issued this season. The Brazilian was cautioned by referee Matthew Degabriele in the 63rd minute for a reckless challenge in the 2-1 win over Gudja United.

Ryan Scicluna's substitute appearance against Hamrun Spartans was his 200th appearance in the Malta Premier Division. The Birkirkara midfielder made his Premier Division debut during season 2009/10, also as a Birkirkara player. He played 174 of the 200 for Birkirkara, 18 for Sirens and eight in the colours of Balzan.

Hibernians’ Gabriel Izquier Artiles, is the 20th scorer of the season. The Spanish midfielder opened his scoring account with the Paolites’ first goal in Sunday’s 2-1 win against Gudja United.

The goalless draw of Sliema Wanderers v Floriana, Old Firm derby number 283, was the 12th between them. The first one dates back to 24th October, 1937, where both teams boasted the likes of Harry ‘Busuni’ Edwards, Salvu ‘Għargħuri’ Sammut, Tony Nicholl, Josip Pinter and Franz Freiberger (Sliema Wanderers) and Alex Svoboda, Frankie Tabone, Ċensu ‘iż-Żibġa’ Friggieri, Karmenu ‘Kaneni’ Cauchi and Pawlu ‘iż-Żibġa’ Friggieri with Floriana.

Hibernians v Gudja United (2-1) was controlled by referee Matthew Degabriele who returned to officiate matches in the top flight after 190 days. The last official fixture controlled by him was Senglea Athletic v Floriana (0-2) on 13th February 2021.

Luke Montebello bagged his second personal goal against Hamrun Spartans in Birkirkara’s 2-1 victory. He scored his first goal against Hamrun 1,350 days ago (9th December 2017), also as a Birkirkara player. He has now scored 54 goals in the MPL. 

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners