Malta Football Association
May 14, 2013
Posted in:

The title-holders of each division in the National Championship 2012-2013 sponsored by the Bank of Valletta are now known.




The last issue was resolved when Birkirkara beat Hibernians 3-1 in the first ever decider of the Premier Division to clinch the top honour in Maltese football. 


The play-off was necessitated after both the Stripes and the Paolites ended their 32-match trek on 45 points apiece. Valleta and Sliema placed joint third with 36 points each.


Another deciding match was needed to confirm the First Division champions. After Naxxar Lions and Vittoriosa Stars finished on 44 points each, Naxxar won the showdown encounter 2-1 to lift the title. It was very tigh at the top as Pieta Hotspur placed third with 43 points followed by Lija Athletic with 42.


Żebbuġ Rangers were runaway winners in the Second Division which comprised 14 teams. They totalled 62 points followed by Msida St Joseph ten points adrift, Żurrieq (50) and St George’s with 49 points.


The third division title was won by Senglea Athletic who preceded Mdina Knights, Marsaskala and Marsa in this order. 


In the women’s league Birkirkara won the First Division title when they defeated Mosta in a deciding match after both teams had shared top spot. In the Second Division the honours went to Raiders who were clear winners, with Kirkop Utd. finishing second. 

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners