August 18 start for 2017/18 BOV Premier League

Published: 01-06-2017 14:50
image1 (102)
image2 (33)
The 2017/18 BOV Premier League season will run from August 18, 2017 until April 22, 2018. The Malta FA Competitions Department, headed by Rodney Pisani, has published the calendar for the coming football season. The top-flight championship will be contested by 14 clubs over two rounds with each team playing a total of 26 league games throughout the season. December 15 will see the start of the second and final round of the 2017/18 BOV Premier League. The league draws for all four divisions will be held later this month. The August 18 start for the BOV Premier League means that Malta’s eagerly-awaited 2018 World Cup Group F qualifier against England at the National Stadium on September 1 will be preceded by two matchdays from the domestic championship. Hibernians FC won the BOV Premier League title for the 12th time in their history last season while Floriana captured the FA Trophy after beating Old Firm rivals Sliema Wanderers 2-0 in the final on May 20. The Preliminary Round of 2017/18 FA Trophy competition starts in September while the final is pencilled in for May 5, 2018. The BOV Division One and Two leagues get underway on September 8, 2017, while the BOV Division Three championship takes off on September 16. The Super Cup match between Hibernians, the reigning champions, and Floriana, the FA Trophy winners, will be played on December 13, 2017, at the National Stadium. The BOV Women’s League commences on October 3, 2017.