Defenders Zerafa and Apap added to provisional Malta squad

Published: 13-05-2018 09:15
National Team
image1 (102)
image1 (102)
Malta coach Ray Farrugia has added Daniel Zerafa and Ferdinando Apap to his provisional squad following the withdrawal of Zach Muscat who is sidelined with a knee injury.  Zerafa, who plays for Ħamrun Spartans, had been called up to the national squad under Pietro Ghedin but is yet to make his senior debut while Apap, a key member of the Victoria Hotspurs squad that won the league and KO in Gozo, played under Farrugia in the latter’s second spell as Malta Under-21 coach. Arezzo defender Muscat had been included in Farrugia’s initial list but pulled out as he is undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury in Italy. The first squad selected by Farrugia since his appointment as Malta coach earlier this week is a mix of experience and youth. The Malta coach has chosen four players from the Malta U-21 squad. Joseph Mbong, the Hibernians wing player, Birkirkara midfielder Jake Grech and Valletta forward Kyrian Nwoko, all aged 20, have been named in the provisional squad alongside Myles Beerman who is on the books of Scottish club Glasgow Rangers. Experienced Gżira United midfielder Andrew Cohen, who on Friday was named MFA Footballer Of the Year for a record fourth time, has been recalled, joining fellow club-mate Roderick Briffa. The majority of the members of the Malta squad will report for duty on Monday. The first full training session is scheduled for Tuesday. Farrugia and his assistant Branko Nisevic are due to trim the squad to 23 players ahead of the Austria training camp towards the end of May. Malta are due to play friendly matches against Armenia and Georgia during their training camp in Austria. MALTA PROVISIONAL SQUAD (REVISED) Goalkeepers: Henry Bonello (Valletta); Andrew Hogg (Hibernians); Steve Sultana (Ħamrun Spartans). Defenders: Andrei Agius (Hibernians); Ferdinando Apap (Victoria Hotspurs); Cain Attard (Birkirkara); Steve Borg (Valletta); Ryan Camilleri (Valletta); Michael Johnson (Balzan); Jurgen Pisani (Floriana); Daniel Zerafa (Ħamrun Spartans); Joseph Zerafa (Valletta). Midfielders: Myles Beerman (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Johann Bezzina (Hibernians); Roderick Briffa (Gżira United); Paul Fenech (Balzan); Luke Gambin (Luton Town, England); Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians); Joseph Mbong (Hibernians); Stephen Pisani (Floriana). Forwards: Andrew Cohen (Gżira United); Alfred Effiong (Balzan); Jean Paul Farrugia (FC Chiasso, Switzerland); Jake Grech (Birkirkara); Michael Mifsud (Valletta); Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta); Andrè Schembri (Apollon Limassol, Cyprus).