Malta U-21 coach Vella selects squad for upcoming qualifiers

Published: 01-09-2020 13:50
image1 (102)
Malta Under-21 head coach Silvio Vella on Tuesday afternoon announced his 23-man squad for the home double fixture against Northern Ireland on Friday and Romania a week on Tuesday at the Centenary Stadium. Both games are UEFA European U21 Championship 2021 Group 8 Qualifiers. There are a total of six newcomers in this significantly-changed squad with goalkeeper Duncan Formosa, defenders Carlo Zammit Lonardelli and Matthew Ellul, midfielders Adam Magri Overend and Alex Satariano, together with Mosta forward Andrei Spiteri, all new faces in Vella's selection. Goalkeeper Andreas Vella, Jean Borg, Matthew Guillaumier, Shaun Dimech and Paul Mbong are still eligible to play at U21 level but their progress has been rewarded with a senior squad call-up for the upcoming UEFA Nations League matches. Meanwhile, Hibernians winger Myles Beerman has returned to Under-21 duties after being part of the provisional senior squad called up by Devis Mangia, the Head Coach of the National teams. The upcoming matches against Northern Ireland and Romania will be the first home commitments for our Under-21 team in this competition following four away matches all played at the latter stages of 2019. Malta earned a merited point in a goalless draw in Antrim this time last year against Northern Ireland. Malta host Northern Ireland this Friday before facing Romania this coming Tuesday with both matches starting at 6pm at the Centenary Stadium and being played behind closed doors. MALTA UNDER-21 SQUAD Goalkeepers Duncan Formosa (St Andrews), Timmy Aquilina (Sliema Wanderers), Cain Formosa (San Ġwann) Defenders Gary Camilleri (Balzan), Dejan Debono (Mosta), Nicholas Pulis (Valletta), Carlo Zammit Lonardelli (Fidelis Andria), Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderers), Matthew Ellul (Hibernians). MidfieldersZachary Karl Grech (Hibernians), Adam Magri Overend (Santa Lucia), Connor Zammit (Hibernians), Alexander Satariano (Sliema Wanderers), Neil Frendo (Balzan), Jamie Zerafa (Santa Lucia), David Xuereb (Hibernians), Ayrton Attard (Hibernians). ForwardsJan Busuttil (Floriana), Myles Beerman (Hibernians), Aidan Jake Friggieri (Gudja United), Nevin Portelli (Gżira United), Andrei Spiteri (Mosta), Zachary Brincat (Mosta).