Birkirkara claim the IZIBET FA Trophy

Published: 30-04-2023 20:58
WhatsApp Image 2023-04-30 at 18.43.56.jpeg

Birkirkara are the IZIBET FA Trophy winners after defeating Marsaxlokk in the final (2-0).  After being finalists in a total of 12 games, this was the club's sixth FA Trophy victory in club history.

Birkirkara scored two late goals, thanks to Osvaldo Iorio who scored in the 77th minute and substitute Claudio Bonanni deflected the ball into his own net, 8 minutes later.

The game, which attracted over 4,000 spectators, got off to a fairly jubilant start with both sets of fans chanting in the stands. Additionally, Birkirkara unveiled a magnificent pre-game choreography in the West C Stand.

Former Marsaxlokk player David Carabott and former Birkirkara captain Michael Galea carried the trophy into the field.

During the 1981–82 season, Carabott made his Marsaxlokk debut in the third division at the age of 13. They were his team until 1987. David Carabott played football for Marsaxlokk in every level of the domestic game. He scored 22 goals while appearing in 98 games for his home team.

Michael Galea joined Birkirkara in 1997 and played for them for a record-setting 14 consecutive seasons. Galea has played in 440 games for the Stripes and scored 213 goals, making him both the most player to ever play games with the team and the teams' leading scorer.  

The Stripes justifiably won the championship after dominating the game from the beginning.

Malta FA President Bjorn Vassallo and Caroline Attard IZIBET’s Marketing and Communications Director presented the medals to the players and staff and the trophy to Enrico Pepe and Yannick Yankam.