National Teams

Sara Saliba strike gains Malta creditable draw against Luxembourg

Published: 27-02-2024 15:05

2024 WU17 UEFA Championship
Group B5
Round 2 Match Day 3
Centenary Stadium, Ta' Qali

Malta 1 Luxembourg 1

The Maltese U17 girls played out a creditable draw against Luxembourg to close their commitments in the UEFA Womens’ U17 championship, in which they reached the second round of the qualification phase.

Luxembourg got off to a flying start and took the lead after just five minutes when Federica Morvilli managed to connect and slip the ball into the net anticipating Maya Muscat. Malta were getting into the match slowly after that unfortunate start and had a free kick from just outside the box on 21 minutes but Sara Saliba’s effort was easily saved by Isabel Blanco Hayles. Luxembourg had another good chance to increase their advantage on 34 minutes but Maylis Cabral Tavares’ effort was somehow blocked on the line by Muscat.

Malta managed to equalise on 53 minutes after a goalmouth melee’ with Saliba stabbing the ball in from close range. Luxembourg missed a good chance to regain the lead a couple of minutes later but Ana Barbosa Abreu shot wide from just inside the box. Malta continued pressing forward and had a good chance on 66 minutes when Saliba was in the clear but a last-ditch tackle by Texeira foiled her opportunity.

The local girls had a golden chance to forge ahead on 83 minutes when Kaysia Micallef was in the clear but her effort was saved by the Luxembourgish goalkeeper. Another great chance fell Malta’s way a minute from time but unfortunately, Saliba’s effort went over the bar.

Last Saturday, Northern Ireland beat Luxembourg 4-1 to win Promotion to League A for the next tournament qualification.

Maya Muscat, Aisha Micallef (Ilona Abela 46), Francesca Bartolo, Ema Micallef, Lexine Farrugia, Amelia Vassallo, Sara Saliba, Kaysia Micallef, Thea Ida Scicluna, Ylenia Azzopardi (Suzanne Farrugia Sacco 46, Amber Galea 73), Stella Francalanza.

Isabel Blanco Hayles, Zoe Texeira, Ella Schmit, Carolina Barbosa de Sousa (Joana Ribeiro Fernandes 70’), Federica Morvilli (Jenny Soares Magalhaes 70’), Maylis Cabral Tavares, Eva Marinelli, Anna Miny, Olivia Konsbruck, Ana Barbosa Abreu, Charlie Jorge Magalhaes.

Marisca Overtoom (The Netherlands)

Images copyright by Joe Borg