National Teams

WNT Head Coach Manuela Tesse names final squad ahead of UEFA Nations League games

Published: 16-09-2023 12:05
20230615 Women National Team Training (46).jpg

Head Coach Manuela Tesse has named a final squad of twenty-two players who will be travelling to Latvia on Tuesday.  This is the first international competition fixture under the helm of Tesse. 

Malta will be playing in League C - Group 1 and will face Latvia, Moldova and Andorra, in home and away matches between September and December.  Malta’s first match against Latvia will be played away on the 22 of September at the Jūrmalas Pilsētas Stadium Sloka, kick off 16.30 local time.  Malta will then host Moldova at the Centenary Stadium the following week on Tuesday 26th September at 20.00.

As from this year, the Nations’ League, a biennial international women senior team competition, will feature three leagues with promotion and relegation between them.  Champions will be determined by an additional tournament. 

The spotlight on this competition is further enhanced by the fact that it will also act as part of the qualifying process for the UEFA Women’s Championship, FIFA Women’s World Cup and Women’s Olympic Football Tournament.

The five group winners in League C will be promoted to League B, whereas the three best-ranked second place teams in League C will play off against the three best-ranked third place teams of group B.  Winners will play in group B of the European Qualifiers’ phase.

WNT Final 22 player squad


Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara), Maya Cachia (Como)


Emma Lipman (Como), Charlene Zammit (Birkirkara), Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara), Jessica Lee Dimech (Swieqi United), Valentina Rapa (Birkirkara), Georgiana Mifsud (Valletta), Emma Xuereb (Swieqi United), Ann Marie Said (Birkirkara)


Rachel Cuschieri (Sampdoria ITA), Shona Zammit (Swieqi United), Brenda Borg (Mgarr United), Nicole Sciberras (Hibernians), Veronique Mifsud (Birkirkara), Gabriella Zahra (Birkirkara)


Raina Giusti (Birkirkara), Leah Alice Ayres (Hibernians), Maria Farrugia (Lewes FC), Maya Lucia (NK Split), Haley Bugeja (Inter Milano), Ylenia Carabott (London Seaward FC)

Tickets for the home match against Moldova can be purchased either from ticket booths at the stadium on matchday or online from here